Giant Clam Restoration Workshop

$20.00

Online workshop, 3am GMT, 29th March 2021

Category:

Description

Giant clams are a keystone species for coral reefs of the Indo-Pacific. These large bivalves can filter hundreds of liters of water per day, contribute to reef structure, and act as a natural feedstock for symbiotic zooxanthallae. They are also incredibly beautiful and unique. Unfortunately, many species have either been extirpated or are listed as endangered. In this workshop we will discuss the ecology of giant clams, the threats to there health, and, most importantly, what is being done to help. This talk is intended for students and local reef manager considering starting a giant clam monitoring or nursery program.

Date: 29 March, 2021
Time: 3 am GMT (10am Bangkok, 11am Perth)
Cost: $20 USD (20% off for repeat students, free for those under 18 y/o)

This meeting will be hosted by Conservation Diver CEO Chad Scott, who has been working to monitor and restore giant clams since 2008. He has manged several giant clam nurseries and out-planting projects in conjunction with the Thailand Department of Marine and Coastal Resources.

You may also like…